Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAbout Us

Founded in 1924, our League has acted for nearly 100 years
as a grassroots, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization
committed to the civic health of our community.

Our Mission:
Empowering Voters. Defending Democracy.

Our Vision:
A democracy where every person has the desire, the right,
    the knowledge and the confidence to participate.  


 LWVLA Board of Directors

2023-24 Board Photo 2

LWVLA Officers

Jane Powell     President
Margi Hanson     Vice President
Rhonda Akeson     Secretary
Catherine Kolkmeier     Treasurer

LWVLA Board Members

Deborah Buffton   Program 
Nora Garland   Communications
Chris Haskell   Voters Services
Sally King  
Karen Kroll    
Emma Latus   UW-L
Sophie Miller   UW-L  
Barb Roberts   Public Relations


2024 Nominating Committee

Jan Gallagher  Chair
Sheila Garrity
Maureen Kinney



Membership in the League of Women Voters of the La Crosse Area (LWVLA) includes membership in the LWV of Wisconsin (LWVWI) and the LWV of the United States (LWVUS). Each level of the League works on issues relevant to its members.